Local Government reorganisation in Dorset will result in redundancies among senior officers.

On March 21, the Appointments & Dismissals Committee of the Shadow Dorset Council meet to discuss redundancy proposals for nine senior officers from the county, district and borough councils to be replaced by the new unitary Dorset Council from April 1.

Replacing six councils with one unitary authority involves cutting the number of senior officer posts in the defunct councils from 23 to seven. It is claimed that” by removing duplication and reducing management overheads, Dorset Council will achieve significant cost reductions, enabling it to function on a more sustainable financial basis. This, in turn, supports the priority goal of local government reorganisation: to protect frontline services for residents.”

If approved by the Appointments & Dismissals Committee, the cost of the collective contractual redundancy payments will be £756,291, and pension contributions will be £1,086,506, the contribution Dorset Council would make to the pension fund.

The total annual saving is said to be £1,072,096, repeated each year, so the proposed redundancies would pay for themselves in 20 months.

Dorset’s nine councils will be replaced by two entirely new organisations: Dorset Council, and Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole Council.

The new Dorset Council will replace the existing district and borough councils (East Dorset, North Dorset, Purbeck, West Dorset, Weymouth & Portland) and Dorset County Council, all of which will cease to exist.

The Appointments & Dismissals Committee comprises leading councillors from the Shadow Dorset Council appointed proportionately from the three largest political groupings.

  • Further information will be made available once final decisions have been made.

Pin It on Pinterest